International Psoriasis Council

Advancing Knowledge. Improving Care.

Advancing Knowledge. Improving Care.





Professor, Dermatology
University of Michigan, Department of Dermatology
Ann Arbor
United States
IPC Board Member
Dr. Johann Gudjonsson is the Arthur C. Curtis Professor of Skin Molecular Immunology at the University of Michigan. Dr. Gudjonsson graduated from the University of Iceland Medical School and completed his internship and dermatology residency training at the University of Michigan. In 2008, Dr. Gudjonsson joined the faculty of the University of Michigan Department of Dermatology. Dr. Gudjonsson sees general dermatology patients at the University of Michigan Taubman Center. Dr. Gudjonsson came to the U-M in 2003 as part of an innovative research residency training program. Dr. Gudjonsson’s primary research focus is basic immunological and genetic research on psoriasis and other inflammatory diseases of the skin, with projects directed at improving the diagnosis and treatment of psoriasis. Dr. Gudjonsson is the Frances and Kenneth Eisenberg Emerging Scholar of the Taubman Medical Research Institute. He received the Young Investigator Award from the American Academy of Dermatology in 2007 and his work has earned several research awards, including from the American Skin Association, the Dermatology Foundation, Doris Duke Foundation, and the NIH. He is a Director of an NIH-sponsored Skin Biology Research Center at Michigan and a member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI). He serves on the Board of Scientific Counselors to NIAMS.
Last Updated:

Areas of Interest

Genetics, genomics and immunology of psoriasis and other inflammatory skin disorders. I run a lab that focuses on basic and translational research. Also have experience with clinical trials.

IPC Committees / Groups

Board Member, Editorial Committee, Governance Committee, Generalized Pustular Psoriasis Working Group, Symposia Committee

Languages Spoken

English, Icelandic

Involvement with Other Organization(s)

On the Scientific Advisory and Medical Board of the National Psoriasis Foundation (NPF).